Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
"Huber Law" or work release allows a person sentenced to jail to work at their regular place of employment during their normal working hours but they must return to the jail during their non-working hours. This opportunity is available at the discretion of the court and the inmate must pay the County $25 per work day for this privilege.
Show All Answers
To obtain a permit to purchase you must apply in person at the Sheriff's Office, Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. You must be 21 years of age, a resident of Chippewa County and have a Minnesota drivers license confirming your Chippewa County address. We have up to seven working days to process your Permit to Purchase application from the time we receive it. The criminal history of each applicant is checked. A record of conviction for certain crimes will be cause for denial of a permit.
To obtain a permit to carry you must apply in person at the Sheriff's Office Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. You must be 21 years of age, a resident of Chippewa County and have a Minnesota Drivers License confirming your Chippewa County address. We have up to thirty working days to process your Permit to Carry application from the time we receive it. The criminal history of each applicant is checked. A record of conviction for certain crimes will be cause for denial of a permit.
In order to receive a permit to carry you must:
To obtain a copy of a Sheriff’s report or accident report, stop by in person at the Sheriff's Office located at:629 N 11th StreetMontevideo, MN 56265
You can also to make a request by mail, or by phone by calling 320-269-2121.
The report can also be requested by your insurance company but we must have a signed authorization by you.
A $3 fee for each report must be received before the report can be issued.
To pick up property stolen from you and recovered, you must call 320-269-2121 to make an appointment. No evidence will be released without proper authorization and prior appointment.
May not operate PWC even with an adult on board.
May operate without permit only with an adult onboard the craft.
May operate with a PWC Operators Permit and under the visual supervision of a person 21 years or older.
May operate PWC alone if they have a Watercraft Operators Permit.
Non-agricultural land should be properly posted; "No Trespassing" signs should be placed at each corner of the property and at all entrances. It is legal for snowmobilers to ride within the road right of way.
If you have snowmobilers who are trespassing on your property try to get the following information:
It is oftentimes difficult to get this information unless you are very close or the person trespasses repeatedly.
If this is happening on a regular basis call the Sheriff's Office at 320-269-2121 and let us know the specific area and time of the offenses and we will make an attempt to patrol the area.
The charge to serve most civil process is $50 plus mileage round trip (at the current rate of reimbursement) computed from Montevideo. If there are two separate parties to be served the cost is $50 per person or business served.
There are different fees for other processes but the $50 fee plus mileage covers about 80% of all actions.
The Sheriff must serve all process delivered to him for service, however, about 95% of all civil process may be served by anyone who is at least 18 years of age and not an interested party in the action.
To evict a tenant for violation of the terms of a lease the landlord must go to the Chippewa County Court Administrator to get an Eviction Summons and Eviction Complaint in Unlawful Detainer issued. From there the following proceedings will occur:
You should call 911 for police, fire, and medical emergencies, to report crimes in progress or that have just occurred.
You should call the Sheriff's Department, at 320-269-2121, for non-emergencies.
Calls made from a cell phone are directed to the nearest State Patrol Office. At this time, 911 calls from a cell phone do not provide caller information such as name, address, and phone number that is normally available to our office when a call is made from a standard phone.
The Drug Abuse Resistance Education Program (D.A.R.E.) is a 17-week (one hour per week) program for fifth or sixth grade students taught by specially trained uniformed law enforcement officers. D.A.R.E. was created in Los Angeles, California in 1983 to teach pre-teens the skills necessary to resist drug experimentation.
D.A.R.E. lessons focus on providing accurate information about:
If the crime is in progress or it is an emergency call 911. For any information that is not an emergency call 320-269-2121 and your call will be directed to the proper person.
Jail visiting hours are as follows:
Tuesdays and Fridays1:30 to 3:30 p.m.7 to 9 p.m.
Call the Chippewa County Sheriff’s office at 320-269-2121 to ask questions, or report suspected illegal drug activity.
You can also email the Sheriff directly by submitting our Contact Form.
Under no circumstances should email be used to report an emergency situation.
Most commonly, a warrant is issued when a person fails to show for a court appearance when summoned.
To contact the deputy who handled your complaint, call one of the non-emergency telephone numbers for the Sheriff's Office at 320-269-2121 or 320-269-2122.
The message will be given to the deputy and they will get back to you.
This is a program which places inmates in a work crew supervised by an employee of the Minnesota Department of Corrections. The crew performs work on public or non-profit projects, primarily within Chippewa, Yellow Medicine, and Lac Qui Parle Counties. The projects include such tasks as:
Participants in this program receive time off their sentences, or perform this service in lieu of payment of a fine.
Yes, Chippewa County does prosecute worthless checks passed in Chippewa County if they meet certain criteria.
To obtain the forms and instructions, you may contact the Sheriff's Office at 320-269-2121 Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.
Types of checks that are not considered criminal and therefore cannot be prosecuted include: